Designing Your Garden

May 11, 2009 at 2:17 am 1 comment

The past few weeks of rain (yes, weeks) had everyone a little restless, and it was a perfect chance to plan the garden. I like to contemplate the design of a garden, and let it really define itself before I plant everything (aka, I procrastinate). I mull over every magazine, gardening blog, and companion plant book that I have, and get to sketching out a few designs.

Usually, I end up with a bunch of little drawings like this:

gardenplanning

For those that want an alternative though, using the computer, I found a site that helps you sketch out your garden, keep track of exactly how many plants you are growing, harvest, dates, etc. It’s called Plangarden—an online program that lets you chart and plot your gardens. (Note: they do not know I am plugging them, I just thought this would be helpful to everyone)

So, I gave it a go—they have a free trial, and by free trial, I mean you don’t even have to enter a credit card, which is so rare today. You get full access to plotting out your garden, and can choose plants to enter, and move things around pretty easily. Here’s what I did to get started:

my plan garden

It took about half an hour to get it set up, and start moving vegetables around. It’s pretty simple to use actually. One thing is that I’m an interplanter, so it was tough to fit all the vegetables I grow into their software.  I wish you could make things smaller, but if you tweak the settings, maybe it can be fixed.

They have some cool garden examples to check out for inspiration. Check out the Obama’s White House Garden:

The Obama's White House Garden

After a few hours, I decided to just go out there and see what developed (and I made a few more sketches) It was helpful to chart things out, but I’m too much of a kamikaze gardener I guess. Either way, it’s time to plant!

Entry filed under: DIY growing, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Spring Update How to Get a Free Garden this Year: Tweet about Grow Indie and Win Free Organic Seeds!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


grow indie twits

RSS Grow Indie

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Feeds


