A Fresh Start: Welcome to Grow Indie

January 26, 2009 at 1:35 am 3 comments

carmen cold frame watcherAlthough it’s late and I should be in bed, I found myself in my kitchen listening to moody wfmu music, restless in the smack of winter. My black cat Carmen yells me when she mistakes her bag of treats with the packets of Long Island Improved Brussel Sprouts, Romanesco Broccoli, and Tall Utah Celery that I begin to shake and open. I shake them even more and it drives her crazy: The seed starting season has begun.

Surrounded by bags of Bio-Mix seed starting medium and night harvest wine, I start the yearly ritual of growing your own, with the most basic of materials—seeds and dirt. It’s really not that complicated, but a ritual all the same, and the contemplative music makes me reflect on my North Jersey roots, wondering how a suburban girl ended up caring about Broccoli in the middle of January.

Over the past 8 years, whether while living in the city or on a llama farm in the sticks, I have managed to always have a garden, and became addicted to being as self sufficient as possible. Factory farms, genetically-modified seeds (GMOs), pesticides—–it’s all bad, and it really only takes some seeds to become independent of these atrocities, save money, and nourish yourself and your community through sustainable homegrown agriculture.

So, I’m excited to debut GrowIndie.com. Whether you have a container garden in New York City, or a couple of acres in Suburbia, you can grow a significant amount of food with small scale gardening.

Really, anyone can do it. I promise.

This year, follow along as I navigate a three-season garden, grow as much from seed as possible, experiment with edible landscaping, row covers and cover crops—-all from my 1/4 acre yard. And, I’ll go into detail (for better or for worse) so you can start growing your own as well. Take that Monsanto!

Entry filed under: welcome to grow indie.

Saving Seeds: Amaranth

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jen  |  February 21, 2009 at 5:44 am

    I love it!! We are in the middle of a move and I already miss my garden!

  • 2. potagergardengirl  |  February 22, 2009 at 3:40 am

    so you are going to grow Romanesco broccoli? Have you done it before? I’m thinking about doing it. I guess it’s called Romanesco Cauliiflower too. But if you have grown it before what was your experience?

  • 3. growindie  |  February 22, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    I’ve never grown it before, and am excited to see what happens. I hear it can be a garden diva, but will post pics as I go along. You should definitely try it! The Romanesco was the first of all the seedlings to sprout, so so far, so good….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


grow indie twits

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

RSS Grow Indie

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
January 2009
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds


